Stanback Knives
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#160240 - 05/12/17 01:18 PM A Knife With a Good Story
Larry Ducati Offline
Knife Enthusiast

Loc: Phoenix AZ
I always like a good story, so here's one for you. As a traveling salesman I covered all of Arizona. While in Tombstone, I met an elderly gentleman at his house. It became apparent right away that he wasn't interested in what I was selling, so we just visited for a while and got along very well. He was a long time resident there, a hunter, a hiker, and collected things he found in the desert. His outside wall displayed 25 or so pieces collected over the years like US army stamped horse bits, spurs, mining tools, etc. I like old interesting items and offered to buy them all and he agreed. Then he asked me if I might be interested in more items. He showed me an old knife with a leather-covered wooden sheath and offered it to me for almost nothing, saying he had no more use for it. I bought it and asked if there were any others. He then showed me the next knife. It was a dangerous looking double-edged dagger with no sheath, obviously sharpened and well used. I thought at first it was an ivory handle, but opinions now are that it is bone. He told me he got it from his grandfather, who was an early member of the Texas Rangers. He explained that some of the Rangers caught a horse thief along the Mexican border, and they decided to lynch him right there. When they strung him up, his boots fell off and out fell this knife. I suggested that if the boots were stolen too, they might have been too big, and that's why they would fall away easily. The knife was kept as a sort of souvenir. It was obviously old, but the story seemed outrageous. "With a family history and story like that, I'm sure you want to hold onto this knife, don't you?", I asked. He told me he had little family left, didn't care about passing it on to them, and wanted me to have it.